top of page

"What would you do ?" de City High

Si vous ne connaissez pas ce titre, vous avez peut-être déjà entendu la version de Bastille, que j'adore tout autant que celle-ci, mais je tenais vraiment à mettre l'originale. Donc, je ne vais pas énormément développer aujourd'hui, tout simplement parce que j'adore mais qu'il n'y a pas des millions de choses à dire. C'est un groupe mixte, de deux garçons et une fille, et ce titre sonne très "Hip-Hop" et "R'N'B", avec des passages de de "Rap", mais il se différencie beaucoup des autres titres du genre, il est d'une autre profondeur. Le rythme est limite bon pour danser, il bouge suffisamment pour remuer dessus, mais pas trop pour modifier son message.

♦

Leur voix et l'instrumentation sont vraiment en harmonie, et tout le titre est une espèce de tout, qui fait qu'il est vraiment unique. Le texte est brut, et va droit à l'essentiel, c'est un problème de société répandu qui nous est exposé sans détours. Je le trouve vraiment beau et émouvant, mais paradoxalement assez violent. Il invite les filles qui se prostituent à reprendre leur vie en main, et ce malgré tout ce qu'elles traversent dans la vie, dans l'univers de la rue. C'est une chanson très puissante et qui éveille beaucoup les consciences, alors il faut l'écouter avec attention pour bien en saisir toute la portée. Elle est fantastique, on valide !

" Boys and girls, wanna hear a true story ? Saturday night was at this real wild party They had the liquor overflowin' the cup, About 5 or 6 strippers trying to work for a buck And I took one girl outside with me, Her name was Lonnie, she went to Junior High with me, I said, "Why you up in there dancing for cash? I guess a whole lots changed since I seen you last." She said... What would you do if your son was at home Crying all alone On the bedroom floor, Cause he's hungry and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money ? And his daddy's gone somewhere smokin' rock now, In and out of lock down, I ain't got a job now, So for you this is just a good time But for me this is what I call life Girl, you ain't the only one with a baby, That's no excuse to be living all crazy Then she looked me right square in the eye And said, "Everyday I wake up hopin' to die," She said, "Nigga, I know about pain 'cause me and my sister ran away, So my daddy couldn't rape us, Before I was a teenager I done been through more shit You can't even relate to!" What would you do if your son was at home

Crying all alone

On the bedroom floor,

Cause he's hungry and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money ?

And his daddy's gone somewhere smokin' rock now,

In and out of lock down,I ain't got a job now,

So for you this is just a good time

But for me this is what I call life Hold up ! Then she said, what would you do ? Get up on my feet and let go off every excuse What would you do? 'Cause I wouldn't want my baby to go through what I went through C'mon, what would you do? Get up on my feet, stop making tired excuses What would you do? Girl, I know if my mother can do it, baby, you can do it Oooo, oooo, oooo What would you do if your son was at home

Crying all alone

On the bedroom floor,

Cause he's hungry and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money ?

And his daddy's gone somewhere smokin' rock now,

In and out of lock down,I ain't got a job now,

So for you this is just a good time

But for me this is what I call life What would you do if your son was at home, Crying all alone on the bedroom floor Cause he's hungry and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money ? And his daddy's gone somewhere smoking rock now, In and out of lock down, I ain't got a job now, So for you this is just a good time But for me this is what I call life, Come on "


bottom of page