top of page

"Fourth of July" de Fall Out Boy

Album "American Beauty / American Psycho" - 2015



Pour la première chanson, je voulais en prendre une récente pas trop médiatisée, sauf qu'entre temps, une méchante agence de pub a eu le même coup de cœur que moi, et, depuis, elle est quand même bien diffusée. Mais bon, moi seule connais l'illumination, alors tant pis.

♦

Pourquoi ce titre en particulier ? La musique, à l'instar du titre symbole de fête, est une véritable explosion. Le refrain vous prend au plus profond de vous et vous entraîne, de sorte que vous vous retrouvez à hurler « YOU AN I WERE FIRE, FIRE, FIREWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORK ! » sans même vous en rendre compte. Et puis avouons-le nous, la voix du chanteur est quand même incroyable, et vraiment unique, ce qui apporte vraiment de la nouveauté pas mal-venue de nos jours.

♦

(Parce que je suis trop bilingue si, si), j'accorde toujours une grande importance aux paroles, et franchement « You are my favourite "What if ?" " "You are my best " I'll never know" " ou "You were my Versailles at night", c'est pas génial ? Le texte va à l'essentiel tout en étant d'une finesse novatrice, et bigre ce qu'il est percutant !

♦

C'est vraiment, vraiment, vraiment une superbe chanson, émouvante, enivrante et motivante avec une sonorité originale, alors... Écoutez-la ! Maintenant j'arrête de parler et je vous laisse profiter, voici le lien :

« [You and I were, you and I were fire.

You and I were, you and I were fire. You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fire]

It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks That went off too soon And I miss you in the June gloom, too It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks I said I'd never miss you But I guess you never know May the bridges I have burned light my way back home On the fourth of July I'll be as honest as you let me I miss your early morning company If you get me You are my favorite "What if ?" You are my best "I'll never know" And I'm starting to forget Just what summer ever meant to you What did it ever mean to you ? Oh, I'm sorry, I didn't mean any of it I just got too lonely, lonely, whoa In between being young and being right

You were my Versailles at night It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks That went off too soon And I miss you in the June gloom, too It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks I said I'd never miss you But I guess you never know May the bridges I have burned light my way back home On the fourth of July My 9 to 5 is cutting open old scars Again and again 'til I'm stuck in your head Had my doubts, but I let them out You are the drought And I'm the holy water you have been without And all my thoughts of you They could heat or cool the room And no, don't tell me you're crying Oh, honey, you don't have to lie Oh, I'm sorry, I didn't mean any of it I just got too lonely, lonely, whoa In between being young and being right You were my Versailles at night It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks That went off too soon And I miss you in the June gloom, too It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks I said I'd never miss you But I guess you never know May the bridges I have burned light my way back home On the fourth of July I wish I'd known how much you loved me I wish I cared enough to know I'm sorry every song's about you The torture of small talk with someone you used to love It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks That went off too soon And I miss you in the June gloom, too It was the fourth of July You and I were, you and I were fire, fire, fireworks I said I'd never miss you But I guess you never know May the bridges I have burned light my way back home On the fourth of July »


bottom of page